My Fire

For all I know, you could be staring at unsent text messages.

For all I know, you could be asking your friends if they’ve heard anything about me.

For all I know, you could be completely disregarding the time gap between us.

For all I know, you could be remembering the funny things we said to each other and chuckle to yourself.

For all I know, you could be thinking about the one moment time froze and no one could move.

For all I know, you could be trying to validate your confused emotions with your friends.

For all I know, you could be hunting for affirmation.

For all I know, you could be getting the shivers when remembering that real feeling you got one time.

For all I know, you could be forgetting what you’re supposed to be doing because you get so helplessly lost in your mind.

But for all I know, this all could just be me and my internal warfare, all of it just me thinking about you, me not sending messages to you, me helplessly falling and falling for you when I remember your face as you coquettishly narrow your eyes in a conversation with me. For all I know you might not even be real. And for all I know you could just be a figment of my wild imagination, one which I spent my entire life anticipating, but learning that, I am, in fact, on an everlasting search for what I was made to love. Made to love with a fire and eager flame. Because you have, in fact, not yet been found.

Leave a Reply

