Teahouse Contemplation

April 6, 2017

Today, I ran into a friend I had from elementary school. She recognized me but didn’t say anything at first.

I hadn’t remembered my life before today until we re-met, then all the memories came flooding back to me. Somehow it felt normal, a train of the past suddenly starting up again. We couldn’t remember how long ago we’d met. She said I lived down the street from her while I hadn’t given it a second thought.

It was strange catching up with her. She turned out differently than I’d expected.

She recommended the green tea latte, making me promise not to hate her if I didn’t like it. Little did she know I love green tea.


I guess I’m lucky to say I don’t go through a lot of problems that most others have to face. I don’t ponder it too often for fear of jinxing myself, but I do hope there comes a solution to those with seemingly unanswerable fates-what’s going on in the lives of the world, even in the lives of my own classmates. Some of it is absolutely horrifying, it sends shivers down my spine.

I’ve wondered endlessly how I could possibly help. With all things I enjoy, all the things I’m capable of, what can I do? A very close friend of mine put it this way…

“How can you save lives through art?”

Leave a Reply

