Beginning or End

May 10, 2017

Tomorrow, I have my last final of the first semester of the most intensive academic pursuit I’ve ever had to power through in my entire life. Whether it was stressful because of the content or because my peers never saw the bright side of anything, I don’t know. But I do know that I’m glad I can say I knocked one semester out—four more to go.

Now even though I have two weeks off before I hit the ground running for another semester of intensive studies during the summer, I’ll still be worrying about school. I still have course registration, textbook hunting, and, yes, the inevitable studying “ahead” (I quote it because even though I study long before the professor lectures, I’m still absolutely clueless).

Aside from that, I have my life planned out all the way to January of 2020 simply because of the academic calendar. People tell me all the time (the whippersnappers, mind you) that I’m thinking too far ahead in my life and that I need to live “in the moment,” to which I hold a forward-facing palm to halt their blasphemy.

Once I get my degree and some work experience, I’ll be one of the youngest working professionals they probably​ know. Heck, I do live in the moment. Every single moment of my life I’ve lived in the moment. I just dedicate it to school right now.

Besides, I can live in the moment later, when I’m done worrying about completing my education (approximately two and a half years from today, if you want to get to the nitty gritty). And those are the same people who tell me I make them feel like they don’t know what they’re doing with their lives. Don’t you think that should motivate them to plan ahead? I think it should.

Anyway, rant over. I’m off to bed. Goodnight, world. We’ll see if I survive tomorrow.

(Post script: I apologise for the lapses in posting, I’ve been, as you may have figured out, occupied by the finals crunch. Peace out.)

Leave a Reply

