Streetlight Chronicles

May 11, 2017

So you’re off to Corpus now, yeah?

Well I’m happy to hear that, you were a great mentor and I’m glad to have met you. You inspired me quite a lot. It’ll be me next time, you said, me sitting in that chair, taking that pin, and lighting that lamp.

I don’t know if you knew anyone else here, but in case you didn’t and no one else remembers you, leave it up to me. I’ll remind them of your legacy, immortalize you in their books, tell your tale, show how you have inspired the next class, the next generation of starry-eyed wonderlings like myself.

Just do me one favor when you’re over there, taking your life by the reins: never forget the inspiring person I discovered in you, the person I look up to, the person with such a history behind them, it’d be absurd to overlook.

Leave a Reply

