Life How It Should Be

May 13, 2017

Today, one of my closest friends, if not the closest, taught me about myself.

He taught me the difference between experience and life experience. He showed me the impact of simple gestures, menial exchanges, and how easy it is to be a good influence—it takes no effort at all if it comes from your heart.

I learned so much about people I thought I knew. He proved to me that you can know someone for years and years, yet still have no idea who they are, but you can also know someone for a couple months and learn more about yourself through them than you thought was even in you.

I have never been so grateful and optimistic about anything in my entire life. I’ve always found it a challenge to believe in myself, to push past the idea of the obstacles along the way to my greatest pursuits, to understand why I’m doing what I do. I used to lie to myself, turning a blind eye to the pain I had to endure, having vain hope that the world will be better by itself. I denied that I was in any sort of turmoil with who I was.

But he showed me that I’m not alone. He showed me that I’m fully capable and well-equipped. He encouraged me to believe that everything I do has purpose and it serves me well to continue being myself, doing what I do, going where I’m going. He’s brought me up from low points when he didn’t even know I was at a low point.

He made me understand that my antics, my hobbies, my interests, my opinions, are all invaluable, no matter the point on the spectrum, and none of it should be discredited just because society views them negatively. It doesn’t take your car or your salary or your social life and possessions to tell your story. It takes you staying true to who you are, expressing yourself, embracing your talents and flaws, learning from your mistakes and bettering yourself, and never backing down when the going gets tough.

It takes a certain type of person to listen and to understand and especially to empathize with problems and situations that are not theirs but he has proven to me that, despite my skepticism, those people exist. And, like him, they are as invaluable themselves as the words they speak.

Leave a Reply

