You’re Inspiring

May 17, 2017

I found myself tearing up at your simple words. I know nothing about you, I don’t know what brought you here, and I don’t know what makes you believe complete strangers will even listen to you (it sounds insulting, but bear with me; I obviously don’t mean it thusly). Heck, I don’t even know what you​ look like.

I never turned around when you made your speech on the bus. Mostly because I didn’t have anything to provide you, but also because I didn’t know what I’d say and I thought about it all day.

Your mere projection was what first caught my attention, but your story pulled me along. I don’t know if you had an education in the years you’ve lived until you somehow lost your home, but either way, I believe the way you speak will outshine any weaknesses you have. I think you have potential to be a wonderful public speaker—obviously because I still remember you, and your words have the same impact now as they did then. Your persistence and willingness to be judged, to be labeled as a “beggar,” just to get your point across that the world is not a totally beautiful place and that every person is not a perfect human being, is awe-inspiring.

The world is a vicious, unrelenting place, but I wish you the best in all you do and hope to pursue. If you have a dream, chase it. Many more will eagerly support you if you have an end in mind, if you have an ultimate goal you’re willing to tell others. I’m fortunate enough to be able to provide for myself and work faster towards my ambitions, but all I can provide for you is an unsaid good luck.

I believe you are a productive human being with a word to say. You can raise awareness on your situation, an unfortunate situation shared by many in your own home city, and hopefully alter the path of that reality. You can move mountains with your sheer willpower.
If I had the choice, I’d fund you a two-piece suit. Because, although physical appearance is vastly important for impressions in today’s society, it will also convince others that you are not just a “beggar.” It convinces them that you are a chooser, you are a pioneer in your destiny and you are making progress, stepping up in the brutal hierarchy of modern times. It will dress up your conviction, put a face to the name of the beliefs you conveyed through the improvised, hostage speech you gave to complete strangers, commuters and tourists alike.

It takes a certain type of person to stand up in front of a mass of unaware, judgmental strangers with vain hope to spur change in this twisted world. But I believe you have things to do, places to go, and people to see.

So, good luck to you, good sir. And I hope the next time I see you, it’ll be on the news about a man who accelerated from almost nothing to changing the world with good speeches and great intentions.

Leave a Reply

