Delicate, Timeless Copper

June 20, 2017

I want something to look forward to. Something to keep my eyes keen for, keep my chin up for. Something that will make me push forward through all the pain that lies ahead of me. Something that will make my heart hammer relentlessly in my throat.

I’m sure everyone, at one point or another in their lives, can relate to feeling like everything is falling over their head, like there’s nothing worth waging this war for and that the better solution would be to cave and watch the pillars you spent your life constructing simply tumble to the ground under pressure. I just wonder… How do they survive it?

I’m sitting in a room with walls and wallpapers covered in inspirational, motivational quotes, quotes that I’m sure many have taken for granted, myself included. But after having moments sadly to myself, I’ve since taken in my surroundings, learned to appreciate the quotes, the words of wisdom from times and people long forgotten. Maybe if I heed their command, wield their weapons of courage and fortitude, maybe, just maybe, I can make it through. Battered and broken, but stronger than I ever was.

“Don’t wait. The time will never be just right.”

-Napoleon Hill

2 comments

  1. Bel · June 20

    It’s been a while since I had something to look forward to – I’ve forgotten how it feels!

    Liked by 1 person

    • girloflights · June 20

      Well, I hope that somewhere, among your wanderlust and journeying, you will find something that inspires you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

