Introductions are Exhausting

July 6, 2017

Don’t get me wrong; I absolutely love meeting new people. It’s probably my favorite thing of all. I love finding out about places I’ve never been, places they’re from. I love learning about their personal stories and inspiration and anecdotes. My favorite part about it is meeting new people through those people, then I eventually end up with an entire cohort in another part of society that I was never comfortable in.

But after doing it for so long, is it wrong to feel overwhelmed and, dare I say… Exhausted?

Trying to keep a conversation with someone who initiated it is a bit ridiculous. Or maybe some people really don’t know how to conduct a decent conversation. I don’t know. There’s so much I want to know about a person but it’s a one out of three hundred chance I’ll get that far into it with the next person I meet, to be plainly honest.

There’s really only one conversation that I want to have and I don’t know when the next chance is that I’ll be given to have it…

Leave a Reply

